Author Topic: Which All Condition Ski would You Buy?  (Read 1217 times)

buck

Which All Condition Ski would You Buy?
« on: November 29, 2006, 08:46:46 pm »
I'm looking for an all conditions (resort) ski and I'm unsure of which one to buy. Living in the midwest I don't want any thing too fat, 76mm is the maximum length I would consider. I live in and ski primarily Minnesota with a once a year trip out west. I ski mostly hard pack, ice and groomers but want something that can handle the rare trip into the deep, crud and spring slop. My choices are the Stockli Stormrider XL, Rosignol Z9, Fischer AMC 76, Volkl AC3, Nordica Hod Rod Modified and the Elan Magfire 12. I have a strong preference for vertical side wall ski's and I'm leaning toward the Stocklis in 174cm which I have demoed on hard pack only and loved. I have also demoed the Z9 in 170cm in a variety of conditions and it found it worked ok in most conditions. The others I have no experience with. I'm 5' 9" 210lbs and love skiing fast on hard snow and ice, I struggle in soft snow and crud. Would ski and length would you suggest?

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Ron

• 6+ Year Member
  • 1000 Posts
Re: Which All Condition Ski would You Buy?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2006, 04:41:48 am »
Buck, if this is for the once a year trip, then I would tell you to rent unless of course, you want ot buy something. Are you saying you want just one ski or are you looking for a a second pair to accomapny the hard snow ski? In my opinion, you only need two skis; one with a 66-68mm waiste and then something around 78-84. Skis like the Supershape, Rx8 will handle anything up tp boot high  powder and some crud. If its' wet mashed paotoatoes and then I break out my 82's and blast on through. Skiing crud and slop is  skill oriented as well so the ski will help only to some degree.

so here's my summary based on assumptions- note I don't know your skill level, speed is irrelevant.