Author Topic: Boot Help  (Read 287 times)

georgelichti

Boot Help
« on: December 26, 2007, 06:38:56 am »
As mentioned in my General Discussion Topi "questions about getting started" I am considering buying boots while renting everything else until my ability and knowledge begin to plateau. One of the reasons is that for some reason known only to the gods, I was given oddly sized feet! My left foot is a size 13. My right is a 12. Both are narrow C widths. My right leg is about 1/4 inch less than my left. It has never caused any gait or physical problems, but is there nonetheless.

All this combined with the general consenus that boots are critical lead me to think buying boots is a good idea, sooner than later. Anybody that has anything to suggest, ideas,etc will be much appreciated.

And no, million dollar custom boots made of "unobtanium" and "fictionite" are not an option so we need to keep it real. Not only because I am a newbie, but am not rich!

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

jim-ratliff

• 6+ Year Member
  • 1000 Posts
Re: Boot Help
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2007, 07:48:09 am »
Giorgio:

You are starting in the right place in getting boots before all else.  I would recommend http://www.bootfitters.com or Harb Ski Systems http://www.harbskisystems.com as excellent starting points for getting boots properly fitted.  The mismatched foot sizes are going to be a challenge, since you want a fairly snug fit on both feet.  Be honest with the bootfitter about all the information you just described.  It would probably be a good idea also to ask the tech whether they have been certified by http://www.masterfituniversity.com or ask whom in their shop has attended.  I think certification is required to be listed on the bootfitters site, but not everyone working in the shop has been certified.  Try to find a time when the normal shop isn't busy.
"If you're gonna play the game boy, ya gotta learn to play it right."

trtaylor