Author Topic: Head 05/06 Monster 77 (no chip) vs. 06/07 82  (Read 588 times)

brussell11

Head 05/06 Monster 77 (no chip) vs. 06/07 82
« on: October 24, 2006, 08:36:23 am »
Hey everyone.  I'm a Head newbie and am looking to purchase a monster ski.  I'm a lifetime east coast skiier and ski at around a level 8 (former recreational racer, etc).  I'm now switching over from more race oriented carving skis (volkl V4 177) as I really want to do more off piste skiing. i just moved to Switzerland (whoo-hoo) and am looking for the right ski to help me gain skills off piste. I imagine that I will be skiing about 30 days this year, if not more, and will probably be 50/50 piste/off piste.  To complicate matters, i've found last year's non chip 77s at a great price and significantly less than this year's 82s. Now, it's always worth more to pay for a good ski, but I want to make sure I'm not overreaching. So. Questions are:

1.  what would this group recommend, given the above? I am 5'8" and 190 pounds. I prefer stiff and fast boards, rarely ski 'hard bumps', and just want something i can start experimenting with in the deep.  my worry with the 82 is that it'll be 'too big' but that the 77 won't perform enough in the crud/pow/back stuff.

2.  If the 82s, i imagine the 172 would be fine.  In the 77s, i can't make a decision between the 170 or the 177!!  Thoughts welcome, and thanks.

BR

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Ron

• 6+ Year Member
  • 1000 Posts
Re: Head 05/06 Monster 77 (no chip) vs. 06/07 82
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2006, 11:31:17 am »
First off, I hate you.  :D  Ok, now that my jealousy is somewhat under control....

weight height,
what do you want out of that ski? Power, energy, float, ease, carving ability, agility? 
Where will you ski it? Big open terrain, steeps with pow, mixed pow and crud and broken, trees, bumps, etc
How do you ski? Aggressive, mixed, laid back/  Do  you use your edges, more old style

then I can answer

brussell11