Author Topic: Knee pain from cycling  (Read 649 times)

Svend

• 4-6 Year Member
  • 1000 Posts
Knee pain from cycling
« on: June 13, 2011, 12:17:00 pm »
Perhaps someone can help me with this one...

Since I started riding this spring, my knees have been hurting.  Initially it was just for a day or two following a ride; and now it lasts longer....sometimes 3 or 4 days.  My bike is set up exactly the same as it was when I left it last autumn, so no changes there.  Although, I have recently started tweaking a few things to see if I can solve this -- moved the seat back about an inch; raised the seat 1/2 to 3/4 inch for long flat rides -- nothing has worked.

I am really wondering what is causing this.  Seat position still off? Crank length too short? Pedal cleat alignment, forcing my legs into an unnatural position? Or is it just a matter of too many miles too soon in the season, without a "break-in" period?

I have never had knee pain from anything, not even skiing.  Anyone have any insight?

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: June 13, 2011, 12:27:56 pm by Svend »

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

jim-ratliff

• 6+ Year Member
  • 1000 Posts
Re: Knee pain from cycling
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2011, 01:00:09 pm »

I think I said this wrong on an earlier post, but something I was reading recently said that when the pedals are horizontal, the lower leg above the pedal that is forward is vertical, and that if you are having knee pain (sort of under the kneecap) its because of those bad angles.

Raise your seat more or slide the seat farther back (or longer cranks).
One option, but do some "googling" of symptoms and see what comes back.

"If you're gonna play the game boy, ya gotta learn to play it right."

midwif

• Global Moderator
  • 1000 Posts
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2011, 01:28:08 pm »
Hmmm, longer cranks?
Are you guys sure?

I've heard longer cranks, more torque on knees.
Not  knowledgeable enough argue about it though.

Svend,
where is the pain?